Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Twitter

Simple DIY 4 fader controller Livid Elements + Brain Jr

Hi guys,

I'm completely new to DIY electronics but I'm looking to make myself a simple yet compact midi controller with four faders. I cam across this livid elements 4k4 component on amazon that looks perfect. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Livid-Instruments-°F-Elements-Module/dp/B00CWEO5JO

Will this combine with the Brain Jr to give me what I need?  Are there any other components that I need? 

I found the livid wiki pages for the Elements and Brain Jr. I can see that the elements components use 10 pin ribbon cables to connect to the brain patchboard. I would rather not have to buy the large patchboard both because if it's size and the price. Hence why I'm considering the Brain Jr which is cheaper and smaller. As far as I can tell (and I'm a total newb) the Brain Jr doesn't have 10 pin inputs but I presume it shouldn't be too challenging to rewire it with jumper cables or something. 

I would really appreciate any advice or assurance before I jump in and start buying parts. 

Thanks! 
Sharma

Comments

• edited July 5

Hi Sharma,

You would also need an Omni Breakout Shield for BrainJr.
    Then it connects with a 2x5 (0.1") ribbon cable. 

Keep in mind that we do not have stock of BrainJr or the Omni Breakout Shield.

• Hi Moon, thanks for the advice. Do you have any idea if/when Livid will stock these products again? Alternatively, how complex would it be to replicate this using an Arduino or Teensy Board or something. 

Many thanks, 
    Sharma 
  • edited July 18

One more thing, is there some documentation somewhere that would tell me how the 2x5 pin header is wired for 4k4f component? I've not been able to find it on the Livid Wiki.  

Thanks!

• edited July 18

Ok, I think I might be slowly wrapping my head round this.