Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Twitter

Push/Turn boards connected to brain v2

edited January 2013 in Hardware
Hi,

Total newbie question but can anyone shed some more light how to connect these up to the brain V2. What wire is needed to connect them, and how you go about doing it

Tagged:

Comments

• It's best to use the direct wiring method http://wiki.lividinstruments.com/wiki/Brain_v2#Direct_Connect_Wiring_.28Advanced_Method.29

But i'd really recommend the omni boards, it's much easier.
  • Thanks Jay. I think i understand how to connect the buttons now its just for 8 buttons in a row of 2 and 4 collums so I can just go  
    BR1 +BC1 
    BR 2 + BC 2
    BR 1 + BC 2
    BR 2 + BC 2
    BR 1 + BC 3
    BR2 + BC 3 

If i then wanted to created another load of buttons else where would I just start to connect up where I left of on the brain? How would this work if I then wanted a few odd buttons here and there.

Also what wire would be best to do the connecting to the brain?

Thanks for your time!

• The easiest way is to just use a 10 pin ribbon cable. http://shop.lividinstruments.com/10-pin-ribbon-cable/ Cut one end off so you can plug one end in and then strip the cut ends and solder them to your buttons. The first 2 wires of each ribbon cable are column pins and the rest of the 10 wires are row pins. Simply connect any combination of column wires to one side of a button. Then solder a diode to the other contact of the button and solder the end of the diode to any row pin. Buttons can share the same column pin or row pin as long as there are no buttons solder to the same combination of column/row. Each header will allow you to connect up to 16 buttons if you use all the combinations. Then just go to another header.
    Remember, each button header on the buss board has
    pin1 - column1
    Pin2 - column 2
    pin3-10 - Row 1 - 8